Hugues Dufourt


Hugues Dufourt favours slow transformations of a seldom-interrupted musical discourse. He conceives forms through the evolution of masses and focuses on the concept of thresholds, of oscillations, of interference, and directional procedures. A pioneer of the spectral movement, he, however, gives it a more encompassing definition, attempting to highlight the instability that timbre introduces into orchestration. His music is based on a wealth of sonic constellations and harmonics, and relies on dialectics of timbre and of time. He draws part of his inspiration from pictorial art, essentially retaining the role of colour, mediums, and light (Dawn flight, string quartet premiered in 2008 at Musica, Le Cyprès blanc and L'Origine du monde, premiered at Musica in 2004).
Strongly influenced by the French avant-garde of the 1960s, Hugues Dufourt collaborated with l'Itineraire (1975-81) and in 1977 founded the Collectif de Recherche Instrumentale et de Synthèse Sonore (CRISS) with Alain Bancquart and Tristan Murail. Specialist in Philosophy in 1967, he has published numerous texts. He was a researcher (1973-85) then director of research at the CNRS (1985-2009) and in 1982 created the Unité Mixte de Recherche "Recherche Musicale" that he directed until 1995. Hugues Dufourt has received many awards, in particular the Presidential Prize for his entire oeuvre, from the Académie Charles Cros.
In 2014, the Ensemble Berlin PianoPercussion premiered L'Eclair d'après Rimbaud for two pianos and double percussion at the MaerzMuzik festival in Berlin, Bernard Haas premiered These livid flames at the International Organ Festival in Haarlem (the Netherlands) and the Percussions de Strasbourg gave the world premiere of Burning Bright as part of the Musica Festival in Strasbourg.
In 2015, Hugues Dufourt will present two new works. In March, a work for large orchestra will be premiered by the Philharmonic Orchestra of Radio France (Paris) and in August, the Concertino pour violon et orchestre will be premiered in Sion as part of the Tibor Varga International Violin Competition.



Orchestral works

Ensemble music

Chamber music

Solo works

Works with electronics

Vocal and choral music




    • Création Nationale
    • 12.02.2019
    • L'Eclair d'après Rimbaud
    • Paris (France)
    • Festival Présences, Auditorium de la Maison de la Radio
    • Vanessa Benelli Mosell, Sébastien Vichard (pno), Florent Jodelet, Adélaïde Ferrière (perc)
    • 05.02.2019
    • Burning Bright
    • Strasbourg (France)
    • Musée d'Art moderne et contemporain
    • Percussions de Strasbourg
    • 11.01.2019
    • Burning Bright
    • Issoudun (France)
    • EPCC
    • Percussions de Strasbourg, Enrico Bagnoli (scénographie et lumière)
    • Création Nationale
    • 04.12.2018
    • L'Origine du monde
    • London (United Kingdom)
    • Royal College of Music, The Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall
    • RCM New Perspectives


Press photos

These free photographies are exclusively for promotional purposes. The mention © Astrid Karger must be specified for each use.