Prix : 23,00 €



Music for a While

  • Category / Instrument : Other
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : CD
  • Publisher : aeon
  • Code : AE0531
  • Published : 15/06/2005


Michael Jarrell lays claim to the status of a craftsman. Conscious that mastery of his art is acquired in the long term, he has often felt the need to come back to the same object, looked at from a different angle, when he judged he had more efficient tools at his disposal and could express his musical ideas with greater precision. This is why he says he is fascinated by artists who constantly rework the same idea, such as Varèse or Giacometti. His training as a visual artist has probably made his sensitivity to forms even more acute. The impact on him of Paul Klee's thought, notably as regards the relations between forms and movements, is doubtless not irrelevant to his manner of animating the materials with which he composes.

Ensemble Klangforum Wienn, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, Ernesto Molinari (bass clarinet), Emilio Pomarico (conductor)


Music for a While - Formes-Fragments IIb - ...Car le pensé et l'être sont une même chose - Essaims-Cribles



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


    • 05.12.2018
    • Bérénice
    • France Musique (Radio)
    • émission "Le concert du soir"
    • Barbara Hannigan (Bérénice), Bo Skovhus (Titus), Florian Boesch (Antiochus), Alastair Miles (Paulin), Julien Behr (Arsace), Rina Schenfeld (Phénice), Orchestre de l'Opéra national de Paris, Philippe Jordan (dir.)
    • Création Nationale
    • 25.10.2018
    • Assonance VI
    • Mexico City (Mexico)
    • Festival Internacional Cervantino, Auditorium Universidad Guanjauato
    • Ensembla de Camara de la Academia Cervantina, Pierre-André Valade (dir.)
    • 17.10.2018
    • Bérénice
    • Paris (France)
    • Opéra National, Palais Garnier
    • Distribution complète : cf 02/10
    • 14.10.2018
    • Bérénice
    • Paris (France)
    • Opéra National, Palais Garnier
    • Distribution complète : cf 02/10

Newer Works