For hire


Galilei - Opéra en 12 scènes

  • Category / Instrument : 13 solo voices, chorus and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(3picc&flA).3(ca).3(clEb.clB).3(Cbn) / 4.3.3(trbB).1 / 3perc / timb / pno / cel / 2hp / clav MIDI /
  • Duration : 1h50
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Parts
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 28000R
  • Published : 23/12/2005


25/01/2006 - Genève, Grand Théâtre - Pascal Rophé (conductor), Nicolas Brieger (satging), Hermann Feuchter (decors), Jorge Jara (costumes), Wolfgang Göbbel (lighting engineer) - Claudio Otelli, Peter Bording, Hanna Schaer, Elzbieta Szmytka, Ulfried Haselsteiner, Peter Kennel, Adrian Thompson - Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Choeur du Grand Théâtre, Ching-Lien Wu (conductor)


Le Grand Théâtre de Genève, avec le soutien du Cercle du Grand Théâtre, de Pro Helvetia et de la Fondation suisse pour la culture


In contrast to the stage play, which is divided into 15 scenes framed by introductory songs, Michael Jarrell has constructed his opera as uninterrupted flow of 12 tableaux, in an effort to highlight the slightest details and transformations in Brecht's characters. The composer does not restrict his musical language to just one technique, but attempts to find the most appropriate means to render the form and expression of each situation, both dramatic and musically. Thus, in his orchestral score, he alternates transparent sound layers with large-scale effects, while treating the vocal line in a wide variety of ways, ranging from brusque spoken recitative to extreme lyricism. The superimposing of some dialogues and scenes is aimed at translating the often unruly and overflowing nature of real life, giving the entire opera a heightened sense of musicality.

Extract from program note
Grand Théâtre de Genève



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


Newer Works