For hire


...Un long fracas somptueux de rapide céleste...

  • Category / Instrument : Percussion and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(2picc).3(ca).3(clB).3(Cbn) / / 3perc / hp / pno / strings
  • Duration : 18'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Parts
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 26823R
  • Published : 29/04/1998


29/04/1998 - Volkshaus, Bâle (Switzerland) - Yasuko Miyamoto (percussion) - Basler Sinfinieorchester - Bernhard Wulff (conductor)


Yasuko Miyamoto


The basic idea for the opening of the work was to start with a short and powerful "primal explosion" that would reappear throughout the piece in different forms, more or less regularly. This "art of punctuation" is the foundation of all musical ideas, and I had been looking for a title that would express it for a long time. It was then that I discovered Julien Gracq's very beautiful book, Un Balcon en forêt. The text describes the beginning of a battle on the Meuse river, and the way the surrealist author described the din of the cannons struck me immediately - that way of describing something so brutal and terrifying with such poetry and such expressive strength is definitely remarkable: a long sumptuous din of celestial rapids.

Michael Jarrell



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


    • 12.02.2020
    • ...Nachlese... II
    • Nantes (France)
    • Cité internationale des Congrès
    • Musiciens de l'ONPL
    • 25.01.2020
    • Assonance IVb
    • Paris (France)
    • Philharmonie
    • Jean-Christophe Vervoitte (cor)
    • 16.01.2020
    • Assonance III
    • Nantes (France)
    • Conservatoire
    • Pierre Gallier (clB), Francois Girard (vlc), Ludovic Frochot (pno)
    • 12.01.2020
    • Zeitfragmente
    • Budapest (Hungary)
    • Oktober Hall, Atlatszo Hang Ujzenei Fesztival
    • Asasello Quartet

Newer Works