Ichiro Nodaïra


The Japanese composer Ichiro Nodaira was born in 1953 in Tokyo, where he studied composition at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music. A scholarship awarded by the French government enabled him to pursue his training at the Paris Conservatory under the guidance of Henriette Puig-Roget, Betsy Jolas, Serge Nigg, Michel Philippot and Jean Koerner. After earning first prizes in composition, analysis and piano accompaniment, he took part in various courses taught by György Ligeti, Franco Donatoni, Peter Eötvös and Brian Ferneyhough. In 1985 he also participated in the computer music course at Ircam. Since then Ichiro Nodaira has pursued a dual career as pianist and composer. In France he has received commissions from the Ministry for the Arts, the Ensemble intercontemporain and Ircam. As a pianist, he has performed with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Ensemble intercontemporain, the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra and the London Sinfonietta, to name but a few. Ichiro Nodaira was artistic director of the Tokyo Sinfonietta from 1994 to 2000. In 1990 he was appointed lecturer at the University of Fine Arts and Music in Tokyo, a position he still holds today. He is artistic director of the AOI Hall in Shizuoka (Japan) in the 2005-6 season and his first opera, Madrugada (text by Barry Gifford), is premiered in July 2005, under the direction of Kent Nagano.
These last years, he composed Distorsion du temps for orchestra, Paroles de Paix-Une colombe s'envole, premiered in Montreal pour the 70th anniversary of the Bombing of Hiroshima.
In 2019, he receive the "Japan Art Academy" Prize, for these composer, pianist, director and producer activities.


Orchestral works

Ensemble music

Chamber music

Solo works

Works with electronics

Vocal and choral music




    • 24.02.2022
    • Arabesque V
    • Tokyo (Japan)
    • Suginami Kokaidou, Salle de récital
    • Shinya Hashimoto (tub), Akiko Fujita (pno)
    • 14.02.2022
    • Arabesque III
    • Tokyo (Japan)
    • College of Music
    • Marie Kikuchi (sax), Michiyo Haneishi (pno)
    • 09.02.2022
    • Arabesque III
    • Wien (Austria)
    • Alte Schmiede
    • Duonarcie : Gerald Preinfalk (sax), Irén Seleljo (pno)


Press photos

These free photographies are exclusively for promotional purposes. The mention © C. Daguet / Editions Henry Lemoine must be specified for each use.