Prix : 70,00 €



Symphonie II - La liseuse

  • Category / Instrument : Voice and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 2.2(hb d' / / 3perc / 2pno / hp /
  • Duration : 40'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 114
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 27937
  • Published : 01/01/2003
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230979375


07/11/2003 - Festival d'Automne, Paris - Marianne Pousseur (voice), Caroline Chaniolleau (narrator), Ensemble intercontemporain, Jonathan Nott (dir.)


Vermeer's Woman in blue reading a letter [La Liseuse] is not only a depiction of life in Holland in the 17th century, but also has deeply metaphysical elements in it - a tribute to inner nature, memory, places and objects within that memory, and the light that is shone on these places, space and knowledge.
There are two women reading here. One of them talks and expresses herself articulately, with a voice of feeling and explicit speech, whereas the other crumbles words, spreads them around, deforms them and stammers over them, making a spectacle out of the crumbs of speech. The music pierces the words, carrying them out to the edge, giving life here and there to just one of the infinitely small fragments, like the Hebrew letters that open each chapter of the Leçons des ténèbres by François Couperin (1688-1733).
The space defined by the seven groups of musicians spread over the stage and hall, the two voices, the forms, the words taken from Plato's Phaedra, and the Theatre of Memory set up by the learned Giulio Camillo in the 16th century, are all viable means to interpret this platonic woman as she reads in the Dutch half-light.

Brice Pauset



Composer Brice Pauset was born in Besançon in 1965, and started his musical education by learning the piano, violin and harpsichord before turning to composition. In 1994 he was awarded a grant by the Marcel Bleustein-Blanchet Foundation and became a student at Ircam from 1994 to 1996. [...]


    • 25.04.2021
    • Konzertkammer
    • WDR 3 (Livestream)
    • Westdeutscher Rundfunk
    • Nicolas Hodges (pno), WDR Sinfoniorchester, Michael Wendeberg (cond.)
    • 24.04.2021
    • Etude
    • WDR 3 (Livestream)
    • Westdeutscher Rundfunk
    • Nicolas Hodges (pno)

Newer Works