Prix : 23,80 €



Arabesque III

  • Serie : Claude Delangle
  • Category / Instrument : Saxophone Eb and piano
  • Duration : 13'
  • Level : 5
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 32
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 24672
  • Published : 01/01/1981
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230946728


15/06/1981 - Salle FIAP, Paris, Concert des boursiers du gouvernement français - Claude Delangle (sax), Ichiro Nodaïra (pno)


This piece is part of a cycle of works all of which are entitled Arabesque. In these works I have attempted to exploit the diverse processes of the ear's analytic faculty.Arabesque III exploits multiple sounds and other possible techniques on the saxophone, as well as the unequal resonances which can be obtained on the piano by the use of the third pedal. The structure of the work was built up from research in two different directions, which nevertheless converge: A simple structure created from very complex elements which cannot be analysed by the ear - A complex structure which can be analysed by the ear with great difficulty and which is created from simple elements. It is of absolute importance that the two instruments be acoustically united and give the impression of a unique body of sound, because it was my intention - for the saxophone as well as for the piano - to use the largest possible scale of values between the normal sound of the instruments and noise (e.g. key-noise, breath, for the saxophone, muffled sound for the piano).

Ichiro Nodaïra


1 CD Bis (BIS890), The Japanese saxophone
Claude Delangle (alto, soprano or tenor saxophone)
Odile Delangle (piano)
Jean Geoffroy (percussion)



The Japanese composer Ichiro Nodaira was born in 1953 in Tokyo, where he studied composition at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music. A scholarship awarded by the French government enabled him to pursue his training at the Paris Conservatory under the guidance of Henriette Puig-Roget, [...]


Newer Works