Yann Robin


The French composer Yann Robin, began his musical studies at Aix-en-Provence. He later enrolled in the jazz class at the National Regional Conservatory in Marseilles, while simultaneously integrating the composition class of Georges Boeuf. He was awarded first prizes from the Paris National Conservatory in the composition class of Frédéric Durieux and the analysis class of Michaël Levinas. He received a grant from the Meyer Foundation, and was awarded a first prize from the Beaux-Arts Academy as well as from the Salabert Foundation, and in 2011 the Sacem presented him with the Grand Prix de la Musique Symphonique. From 2006 to 2008, he attended the two-year curriculum at Ircam.
The Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain commissioned him to write Art of Metal, a concerto for metal contrabass clarinet and ensemble, the first of a three piece cycle for the instrument, prepared in close collaboration with Alain Billiard. Next came Art of Metal II (for metal contrabass clarinet and electronics) as well as Art of Metal III (for metal contrabass clarinet, ensemble and electronics), premiered at the Agora Festival in 2008 by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, and conducted by Susanna Mälkki. Between 2006 and 2008, he was guest composer with the National Orchestra of Lille.
A monograph recording for the Kairos label's Sirènes collection, with the Ensemble Intercontemporain and Ircam, is released in November 2012 (0013262KAI).
During 2008 and 2009, he contributed, as research composer at Ircam in conjunction with Gérard Assayag and d'Arshia Cont, to the continuing work on the Omax program.
His music is performed in France and other countries in concert halls such as Muziekgebouw (Amsterdam), the KKL (Lucerne) or Lincoln Center (New York) as well as in festivals such as Agora, Donaueschingen, Musica, Biennale de Venise, Présences, Gaudeamus, Lucern Festival...
In addition to chamber music works, in particular a second string quartet for the Aix-en-Provence Festival in 2011 and the Draft serie begun in 2013, he received a co-commission from Ircam and the Philharmonic Orchestra of Radio France for Inferno, a work for large orchestra and electronics based on the cartography of Hell by Dante, has been premiered at the ManiFeste Festival in 2012. The same year, the New York Philharmonic together with Casa Da Musica in Porto commission him Backdraft for ensemble. He composes Ashes for the Seattle Symphony and the Orchestre National de Lille (2014). Festival Musica in Strasbourg creates in 2015 a new version of Inferno, a new piece for ensemble, Arkham, and a dance for a "contemporary ball", Unza Danza. In 2016, Quatuor Tana premiered his 3rd string quartet "Shadows" and Eric-Maria Couturier with Orchestre National de Lille conducted by Peter Rundel premiered his cello concerto Quarks.

His music is published by Editions Jobert.






Orchestral works

Ensemble music

Chamber music

Solo works

Works with electronics

Vocal and choral music




    • 29.06.2019
    • Titans
    • Bordeaux (France)
    • Conservatoire
    • Elèves du conservatoire, Miléna Duflo (cond.)
    • Création Nationale
    • 18.05.2019
    • Quarks
    • Tokyo (Japan)
    • Place City
    • Eric-Maria Couturier (vlc), Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Jonathan Nott (cond.)
    • 12.04.2019
    • Art of metal II
    • Paris (France)
    • Philharmonie
    • Alain Billard (clcb)


Press photos

These free photographies are exclusively for promotional purposes.
This copyright mention must be specified for each use:
Photo 1, 2 and 3: © Jean Radel
Photo 4: © Ugo Ponte