Dmitri Kourliandski


Dmitri Kourliandski was born in 1976 in Moscow. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory and completed post-graduate course led by Leonid Bobylev. Attended master classes given by many Russian and foreign composers. His compositions won awards in Russia, France and Great Britain. In 2003 he won the Grand Prix of the International Gaudeamus Competition in the Netherlands. In 2010, Gianni Bergamo Classic Music Award (Switzerland). Guest of the Berliner Kuenstlerprogramm 2008 (DAAD Artist-in-residence). Ensemble 2e2m (France) composer-in-residence 2010. Winner of 2011 Johann Joseph Fux opera composition competition (Austria).
Dmitri Kourliandski's music is regularly played in concerts and at festivals, including Donaueschingen, MaerzMusik, Venice biennale, Musica Strasbourg, Huddersfield, Athens festival, Archipel (Geneva), Transart, Klangspuren Schwaz, Elektra Montreal, ISCM WMD, Warsaw Autumn, Territoria (Moscow) and many others. His music is broadcast worldwide (including radio portraits at France Musique, Deutschlandradio Kultur, RBB, Radionova (Norway), CKUT (Canada) and others). Dmitri Kourliandski worked with such conductors as Teodor Currentzis, Fedor Lednev, Reinbert de Leeuw, Roland Kluttig, Pierre Roullier, Jurjen Hempel, Giorgio Bernasconi and others. His compositions were played by many Russian and European orchestras and ensembles, such as SWR orchestra, MusicAeterna, Moscow Symphony Orchestra, Yekaterinburg philharmonic orchestra, J.Futura orchestra, Tatiana Grindenko and Opus Posth, KlangForum Wien, ASKO and Schoenberg ensembles, InterContemporain, 2E2M, L'Itineraire, Contrechamps, KNM, Aleph, Slagwerkgroep den Haag, Champ d'action, Kairos quartet, Sonar quartet, Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble, eNsemble, Studio for New Music and many others. He has received commissions from many Russian and European festivals, ensembles and foundations. His works are published by Editions Jobert.
Mr. Kourliandski is the founder and editor-in-chief of Tribuna Sovremennoi Muzyki (Tribune of Contemporary Music, 2005-2009), the first Russian journal dealing with contemporary music issues. He is a co-founder of the Structural Resistance (StRes) group of composers and member of the Composers' Union of Russia. Artistic director of the International Academy of Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble in Tchaikovsky city.