Soon available



  • Category / Instrument : Concerto for doublebass, ensemble (21 musicians) and electronics
  • Orchestration : 1(picc.FlA.FlB).1.2(2clB.1clcB).1(cbn) / / 2perc / hp / 2pno /
  • Duration : 25'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Publisher : Jobert
  • Code : JJ2269
  • Published : 07/01/2020
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230822695


07/02/2020 - Paris, Philharmonie - Nicolas Crosse (doublebass), Ensemble intercontemporain


Ircam et Ensemble intercontemporain


to Nicolas Crosse and to Robin Meier


Triades is a work in concertante form for solo double bass, an ensemble of twenty-one musicians and live electronics. This piece belongs to a larger cycle for double bass begun in 2013 with Nicolas Crosse, double bassist and soloist with the Ensemble Intercontemporain.
The poetic universe of this project was taken directly from Solaris, Stanislas Lem's science fiction novel written in 1961. Solaris is a planet, that orbits around two suns, with a surface entirely covered by an ocean of protoplasmic matter, presenting an absolute enigma for the scientists who have been studying it for almost a century. The ocean creates gigantic formations on its surface that scholars have given names based on their shapes and distinctive features: Longus, Mimoids, Agilus, Vertebrides, Symetriades, Asymetriades... Triades follows in the continuity of these monstrous creatures endowed with phenomenal activity and prodigious dynamics surpassing anything imaginable by the human spirit.
Every gesture made by the soloist, every timbre resulting from the heightened energy coming from the double bass, is related to a characteristic type of transformation. Digital software reacts to the soloist's physical actions on the instrument in real time. After electronic transformation, the sound is amplified through a large network of loudspeakers and subwoofers positioned in dome-form to surround the audience. This setting literally plunges the audience into a realistic experience of submersion.
Triades is dedicated to both Nicolas Crosse and Robin Meier, without whom this sonic universe would never have been so amply developed.

Yann Robin

The complete cycle:

Symétriades (2013, 14')
for doublebass and live electronics
Asymétriades (2014, 20')
concerto for doublebass and 16 instruments
Symétriades / Extension (2018, 18')
for doublebass, live electronic sound and video system
Myst (2019, 12')
pour solo doublebass
Triades (2020, 25')
concerto for doublebass, 21 instruments live electronics



Yann Robin, born in february 1974, began his musical studies in Aix-en-Provence. He later enrolled in the jazz classroom at the Conservatory of Marseille while integrating the composition class of George Boeuf. He was awarded 1st prizes from the Paris National Conservatory in the composition class of Frédéric Durieux [...]


    • Création Mondiale
    • 02.04.2020
    • Quarks II
    • Geneve (Switzerland)
    • Festival Archipel, Salle communale de Plainpalais
    • Eric-Maria Couturier (vlc), Lemanic Modern Ensemble, Jonathan Stockhammer (cond.)
    • 27.03.2020
    • Art of metal III
    • Geneve (Switzerland)
    • Festival Archipel, Victoria Hall
    • Alain Billard (clcB métal), Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Jonathan Nott (cond.)
    • 21.03.2020
    • Le Papillon noir
    • Oullins (France)
    • Biennale Musique en Scène, Théâtre de la Renaissance
    • Elise Chauvin, Les Métaboles, Ensemble Multilatérale, Léo Warynski (cond.)
    • Création Nationale
    • 15.03.2020
    • Art of metal
    • Katovice (Poland)
    • Concert Hall, Sala kameralna
    • Michele Marelli (clcB), Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej, Szymon Bywalec (cond.)

Newer Works