Prix : 18,10 €



Les Mabinogion et autres contes médiévaux du Pays de Galles

  • Category / Instrument : 2 guitars
  • Genre : classical
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 26
  • Format : 23 x 31 cm
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 29169
  • Published : 08/04/2016
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230991698


Issued from Celtic mythology and antiquity (500 BC), the tales and legends of Wales stem from a long aural tradition whose origins are lost in the midst of time. Adventures, myths, epics, these legends often with Arthurian origins, provide a veritable abundance of stories, in turn wonderful, tragic, frightening, sometimes humorous but always full of humanity.

The Four Branches of the Mabinogi (Pedair Cainc y Mabinogi) refer to four medieval fairy tales drawn from two manuscripts written in medieval Welsh between 1350 and 1400:
Pwyll prince of Dyfed (Pwyll Pendefig Dyfed)
Branwen daughter of Llyr (Branwen ferch Llŷr)
Manawydan son of Llyr (Manawydan fab Llŷr)
Math son of Mathonwy (Math fab Mathonwy)

There have been other tales and stories traditionally linked to these, as follows:
Llud and Llevelys (Lhud a Llevelys)
Kulhwch and Olwen (Kulhwch a Olwen)
Rhonabwy's dream (Breuddwyd Rhonabwy)
Owein and the Lady of the Foutain (Owein Neu Larlles Y Flynnon)
Macsen Wledig's dream (Breuddwyd Macsen Wledig)

This 5th volume is therefore specifically dedicated to the musical illustration of a few of these stories and to the depiction of its heroes; borrowing medieval sounds of these far away times, and introducing others, more modern and closer to us...

M. L. G.
(Translation by Yveline Le Gars-Hands)


Pwyll, prince de Dyfed - Arawn, roi d’Annwyn - La disgrâce de Branwen - Bendigeit Vran, fils de Llyr - Manawydan et Rhyannon - Mat, fils de Mathonwy - Goewin, fille de Pebin - Gwyddyon, le druide - Llud et Llevelys - Kuhlch et Olwen - Le songe de Rhonabwy - Owein et la Dame de la Fontaine - Le rêve de Macsen Wledig