Prix : 62,50 €



Spuren (Nachlese VII)

  • Category / Instrument : String quartet and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(flG.picc).2(+ca).2(+clB).2(+cbn) / / 3perc / pno(cel) / hp /
  • Duration : 24'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 82
  • Format : A3
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 29152
  • Published : 03/09/2014
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230991520


03/10/2014 - Strasbourg (France), Festival Musica, Palais de la musique et des congrès, Salle Erasme - Quatuor Arditti, Bamberger Symphoniker, Bayerische Staatsphilharmonie, Jonathan Nott (conductor)


Orchestre de Lucerne, Bamberger Symphoniker et Musica


Before beginning to write a new piece, I always need to determine the outlines of the universe in which I am going to work, to define what could eventually be called a "strategy". It is also a question of defining a form, a "dramaturgy" for the musical discourse, and to conceive a means of how to approach writing, in this particular case, for string quartet and orchestra.
The string quartet is often treated homophonically, with the orchestra becoming a sort of screen which receives the projected vestiges, imprints (or "shadows") of the quartet. These are sometimes amplified and developed in such a way that the musical discourse shifts, with the quartet in turn becoming the screen, taking over the imprints, the "Spuren" left by the orchestra.

Michael Jarrell



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


    • 09.11.2021
    • Siegfried, nocturne
    • Angers (France)
    • Grand Théâtre
    • Otto Katzameier (bar), Dina Bawab, Pauline Sikirdji, Sophie Belloir (voix), Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire, Pascal Rophé (cond.)
    • 30.10.2021
    • Conversions
    • Clermont Ferrand (France)
    • Festival Musiques Démesurées, Chapelle des Cordeliers
    • Valeria Kafelnikov (hp), Orchestre National d'Auvergne, Rebecca Tong (cond.)

Newer Works