Prix : 62,50 €



Concerto pour deux pianos

  • Category / Instrument : 2 pianos and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(picc).2(+ca).4(+clB).2(+cbn) / 4.4.2(+trbB).1 / timb / 3perc / hp / strings
  • Duration : 25'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 81
  • Format : 29,7 x 42 cm
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 29048
  • Published : 14/05/2012
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230990486


26/05/2012 - Casa da Musica, Porto (Portugal) - François-Frédéric Guy (piano), Varduhi Yeritsyan (piano), Orquestra Sinfonica do Porto Casa da Musica, Christoph König (conductor)


After Eclair de lune for three principal snare drums, three ensembles and electronics, and after my Concerto for two violas written for Tabea Zimmermann and Antoine Tamestit, I felt compelled to compose a new work for double soloist, and ended up choosing the piano. First of all from a desire to write for Varduhi Yeritsyan and François-Frédéric Guy, but also because the confrontation between that orchestral instrument, itself duplicated, and a symphonic mass offered me infinite sound perspective options. Though the piano writing contains nothing radically innovative, the profusion of repeated notes (using both instruments and in simultaneity) creates a percussive dynamic timbre ranging from a murmur to a violent surge. Often in echo, most of the time in simultaneity, the two soloists quite simply comprise a meta-instrument, counterpoint being rather absent from this score that favours the collision between energies over the superimposition of lines. As this 22 minute voyage progresses, several thematic elements emerge (tolling in the instrument's low register, virtuosic lines with certain notes doubled and "frozen" by the orchestra), united by an often static harmony, which imparts a sensation of continuity to this veritable rhapsody.

Bruno Mantovani
October 3, 2011



Bruno Mantovani was born on October 8, 1974. After receiving five first prizes from the Paris Conservatory (analysis, aesthetics, orchestration, composition, music history) and attending the computer music Cursus at Ircam, he began an international career. His works have been performed at the Concertgebouw [...]


    • 07.06.2022
    • Troisième Round
    • Brussels (Belgium)
    • Conservatoire Royal, Grande Salle
    • Luis Salomé (sax), Etudiants du Conservatoire Royal, Vincent David (cond.)
    • 08.04.2022
    • Bug
    • Orléans (France)
    • Salle de l'institut
    • Ensemble intercontemporain
    • Création Nationale
    • 01.04.2022
    • Allegro barbaro
    • Paris (France)
    • Maison de la Radio et de la Musique, Auditorium
    • Colin Currie (perc), Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Bruno Mantovani (cond.)
    • Création Mondiale
    • 31.03.2022
    • Allegro barbaro
    • Monte Carlo (Monaco)
    • Printemps des Arts, Chapiteau de Fontvieille
    • Colin Currie (perc), Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Mikko Franck (cond.)

Newer Works