Prix : 26,80 €



Tango - Etudes (6) ou Etudes tanguistiques

  • Category / Instrument : Saxophone or clarinet and piano
  • Duration : 20'
  • Level : 4
  • Genre : classical
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 52
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 27733
  • Published : 03/10/2003
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230977333


Some time in 1988, after he had returned the manuscript of the Tango-Etudes (or Tangoistic studies in the version for alto saxophone in Eb prepared in collaboration with Claude Delangle, we asked Astor Piazzolla if he could not harmonize them, echoing the requests of flautists after the original edition had been published for their instrument in 1987.
In February 1989, the composer wrote to us from Punta del Este, in Uruguay, where he was staying before returning to Buenos Aires: "Dear friend, finished the piano part of the Etudes tanguistiques for saxo alto and piano... Good luck to Mr Delangle and please tell him to forgive my music handwriting. I was in a hurry and could not do it better... Please let me know if you received the music."
And indeed, the manuscript arrived just a few days later - only to be carefully stored away ! In fact it was so difficult to decipher it that the publication had to be shelved for quite some time. In December 1989, therefore, we published the version for alto saxophone as originally planned, leaving the harmonised version to follow at a later date.
But Piazzolla's health subsequently declined, and he died in 1992. It was many years before the planned edition saw the light of day, following much painstaking work on the manuscript. (See the preface by Yann Ollivo).


n°1 Décidé - n°2 Anxieux et rubato - n°3 Molto marcato e energico - n°4 Lento meditativo - n°5 Sans indication - n°6 Avec anxiété



Poverty drove Piazzolla's ancestors to emigrate from their homeland, and the young Astor was born of Italian parentage in Mar dei Plata in Argentina on 11 March 1921. ln 1925 the family moved to New York to try their fortune in the big city. [...]


    • 03.02.2017
    • Histoire du tango
    • Nantes (France)
    • La Folle Journée, Cité des Congrès
    • Ensemble Utopik
    • 21.10.2016
    • Histoire du tango
    • Levallois Perret (France)
    • Conservatoire Maurice Ravel, Auditorium
    • Jasmine Choi (fl), Benjamin Beirs (guit)
    • 26.11.2014
    • Four for Tango
    • Monte Carlo (Monaco)
    • Maison de l'Amérique latine
    • Solistes de l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo
    • 20.07.2013
    • Histoire du tango
    • Mulhouse (France)
    • Festival Scènes de Rue, Bains Pierre et Marie Curie
    • Solistes de l'Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse

Newer Works