Prix : 12,70 €



Bruissant divisé

  • Category / Instrument : Violin and cello
  • Duration : 5'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 6
  • Format : 26 x 33 cm
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 27514
  • Published : 01/01/1998
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230975148


28/03/1998 - Paris - Véronique Marin and Pierre-Olivier Queyras


This work was composed for a documentary film made by Maurice Rabinovisz on Proust and music, A la recherche de la sonate de Vinteuil. The producer Guy Darbois had invited four composers, (Régis Campo, Marius Constant, Philippe Hersant and myself) to imagine what their own "petite phrase" or "little phrase" would be. Rather than writing a hypothesis on Vinteuil's F sharp sonata, I decided to write in homage to him, as he was my teacher. I borrowed the title from a description of the "petite phrase" (intercalée, épisodique, bruissante (meaning "rustling" or "humming" and divisée) and the music follows Proust's highly detailed description of Vinteuil's music, including the Septet from the "purple fog" of his final period, especially the "constant recall" of two notes, the "melancholy, unceasingly rapid movement", the "motifs that briefly emerge from time to time, barely identifiable, before diving down again and disappearing" - the "liquidity", the "melting", "bitter silence", 'infinitely empty", "sweet but not peaceful", "withdrawn and chilly", "the sounds that can change in a moment, dying down to become a shadow", right up to the "gentle background of silence that can calm some of Schumann's réveries".
This work was premiered on 28 March 1998 by Véronique Marin and Pierre-Olivier Queyras during the shooting of the film in Paris.


1 CD aeon, AE0106, Mes béatitudes
Ensemble Recherche



Born in Torteron, in central France, in 1958, Gérard Pesson studied at the Sorbonne, where he obtained his doctorate with a thesis on The Aesthetics of Aleatoric Music. In addition, at the Paris Conservatory, he studied composition with Ivo Malec, orchestration with Marius Constant [...]


Newer Works