Prix : 28,80 €




  • Category / Instrument : Orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(picc).0.3(clB).2(Cbn) / 4.5(trpB).1.2 / saxBar / 3perc / 3pno / strings
  • Duration : 20'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 39
  • Format : A3
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 27216
  • Published : 01/01/1994
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230972161


16/10/1994 - Donaueschingen - Orchestre de la Südwestfunk de Baden-Baden - Michael Gielen (conductor)


Par-delà, a work for symphonic orchestra (without oboe or viola) composed in 1994, is the nodal point of Levinas' creation. Indeed, it does make use of preceding "studies": the joint bells and the micro-intervals (producing beats) of Diaclase, the group of three pianos experimented in Rebonds, "amplified so as to dominate the tutti" in which are used an upright piano tuned to sixteenth tones and two grand pianos the one being set at 440 Hz, the other a quartertone lower. However, adding trills, breathing expression and micro-intervals among brass and string to the bouncing bows whose innumerable time-lags form stratified layers, makes an indefinitely polyphonic style surge forth. The unprepared listener is struck by the incredible sonorities and the - real or metaphoric - omnipresence of human breath this leads one to affirm that Lévinas' works are to be breathed as much as they are to be listened to.

Franck Langlois, CD aeon


1 CD aeon, AE0104, Par-delà
Appels - Les Réciproques - Voix dans un vaisseau d'airain - Diaclases - Par-delà
Ensemble L'Itinéraire, Groupe Vocal de France, Just'à 5, Orchestre SWF de Baden-Baden



Internationally recognized in the fields of creation and interpretation, the double profile, of pianist and composer, imparts Michaël Levinas a remarkable peculiarity within the French and International musical life.

Born in Paris, Michaël Levinas went through the classical and high level teaching of the National Superior Conservatory of Paris, [...]


    • 26.08.2018
    • Appels
    • La Chaise Dieu (France)
    • Festival, Auditorium Cziffra
    • Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain, Daniel Kawka (dir.)
    • 29.06.2018
    • Etude sur un piano espace
    • Paris (France)
    • Festival ManiFeste, Centre Georges-Pompidou, Grande Salle
    • Ensemble Links, Benjamin Lévy, Augustin Muller (Ircam)

Newer Works