Prix : 20,30 €




  • Category / Instrument : Harp and string orchestra
  • Duration : 15'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 33
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 25013
  • Published : 01/01/1988
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230950138


06/05/1988 - Soleure (Switzerland), Fête de l'AMS - Chantal Mathieu (hp) - Kammerorchester Solothurn - Bruno Späti (conductor)


Association des Musiciens Suisses (AMS)


The AMS who commissioned this piece requested that it should have some relation with the work of Bach. The various "conversions" to be found in this piece are applied to original Bach material taken from A Musical Offering, and, in particular, to the theme of the two-voice canon "Quaerendo invenietis". The acrostic - another allusion to Bach - is also used as a means of conversion.
This piece was written for Chantal Mathieu and is dedicated to her.

Michael Jarrell,
translated by Mary Criswick


Prix Henriette Renié (1988)



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


    • Création Mondiale
    • 29.09.2018
    • Bérénice
    • Paris (France)
    • Opéra, Palais Garnier
    • Barbara Hannigan (Bérénice), Bo Skovhus (Titus), Florian Boesch (Antiochus), Alastair Miles (Paulin), Julien Behr (Arsace), Rina Schenfeld (Phénice), Christian Schmidt (décors), Christian Schmidt, Linda Redlin (costumes), Fabrice Kebour (lumières), Arian Andiel (vidéo), Konrad Kuhn (dramaturgie), Orchestre de l'Opéra national de Paris, Philippe Jordan (dir.)
    • 30.06.2018
    • Droben Schmettert ein greller Stein
    • Paris (France)
    • Festival ManiFeste, Atelier d'interprétation, Le Centquatre
    • Ensemble Ulysse et intercontemporain, Beat Furrer (dir.)
    • 22.06.2018
    • Résurgences
    • Paris (France)
    • Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique, Salle Maurice Fleuret
    • Rui Ozawa (sax), Othman Louati (dir.)

Newer Works