Michael Jarrell


Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. Starting in 1982, his works have received numerous prizes: prix Acanthes (1983), Beethovenpreis from the city of Bonn (1986), Marescotti prize (1986), Gaudeamus (1988), Henriette Renié (1988), and Siemens-Förderungspreis (1990). Between 1986 and 1988, he was in residence at the Cité des Arts in Paris and took part in the computer music course at Ircam. He resided at the Villa Médicis in Rome during 1988/89, and then joined the Istituto Svizzero di Roma in 1989/90. From October 1991 to June 1993, he was composer in residence with the Lyon Orchestra. Beginning in 1993, he became professor of composition at the University in Vienna. In 1996, he was "composer in residence" at the Lucerne festival, and then was heralded by the Musica Nova Helsinki Festival, which dedicated the festival to him in 2000. In 2001, the Salzburg Festival commissioned a concerto for piano and orchestra entitled Abschied. The same year, he was named "Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres". In 2004, he was named professor of composition at the Geneva Conservatory. His opera Galilei, after the La Vie de Galilée by Brecht, commissioned by the Grand Théâtre in Geneva, was premiered in January 2006.
Concertante style continues to inspire him: ...un temps de silence... was premiered in Geneva in March 2007 by Emmanuel Pahud with the Orchestra of the Suisse Romande conducted by Heinz Holliger. Nachlese III, a double concerto pour clarinet, cello and orchestra was premiered in Cologne (commissioned by the WDR, Fall 2007). Orchestre of the Suisse Romande gives in the premiere of 2009 Le Ciel, tout à l'heure encore si limpide, soudain se trouble horriblement (Marek Janowski, conductor).
The chamber opera Cassandre, premiered in 1994 at the Châtelet theatre in Paris, pursues an international career with translations in German, English, Spanish, Finnish, Russian...

The music of Michael Jarrell is published by Editions Lemoine.


Orchestral works

Ensemble music

Chamber music

Solo works

Works with electronics

Vocal and choral music


Christoph Steiner
Un certain frémissement bleu
"Assonance V" de Michael Jarrell, dans Au carrefour des mondes.
Komponieren in der Schweiz
Edition dissonance 1.1, Saarbrücken (Pfau) 2008,
pp 252-262

Antoine Pecqueur
Galilée de Michael Jarrell
Revue Musicale de Suisse Romande n°59-1,
mars 2006, 64 pages

Michael Jarrell
L'orchestration comme art de mentir
à propos des Trois Etudes de Debussy
Peter Szendy, Arrangements-Dérangements,
Editions Cahiers de l'Ircam / L'Harmattan Paris, 2000, 144 pages, pp. 105-116

Musique pour une fin de siècle
Entretiens avec 20 compositeurs
Jean-Pierre Amann
Yverdon-les-Bains, Revue Musicale de Suisse Romande, 1994

Michael Jarrell
Les Cahiers de l'Ircam
collection "Compositeurs d'aujourd'hui"
Editions Ircam-Centre Georges-Pompidou, Paris, 1992






    • 24.06.2022
    • Assonance VI
    • Paris (France)
    • Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional
    • Etudiants du Pôle supérieur d'enseignement artistique de Paris - Boulogne Billancourt (PSPBB)
    • 23.06.2022
    • Assonance VI
    • Boulogne Billancourt (France)
    • Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional
    • Etudiants du Pôle supérieur d'enseignement artistique de Paris - Boulogne Billancourt (PSPBB)
    • 16.06.2022
    • Assonance Ib
    • Wien (Austria)
    • Reaktor
    • Platypus Ensemble


Press photos

These free photographies are exclusively for promotional purposes.
This copyright mention must be specified for each use:
Photo 1: © C. Daguet / Editions Henry Lemoine
Photo 2: © C. Daguet / Editions Henry Lemoine
Photo 3: © Maurice Weiss / Ostkreuz