Prix : 43,00 €




  • Category / Instrument : Concerto for viola and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3.2(+ca).2(+clB).2(+cbn) / / timb / 3perc / hp / pno / strings
  • Duration : 23'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 65
  • Format : A3
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 29279
  • Published : 24/07/2016
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230992794


01/10/16 - Strasbourg - Festival Musica, Palais de la musique et des congrès, Salle Schweitzer - Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire, Pascal Rophé (conductor)


Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire, Utah Symphony, Konzerthaus Berlin, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Wiener Symphoniker et Wiener Konzerthaus, avec le soutien de la Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung


for Tabea


The viola concerto entitled émergences-résurgences is in direct reference to the pictorial art of Henri Michaux.
Curves, colours, chiaroscuro, or emphasized lines; I tried to integrate a pictorial dimension into the scheme of this piece and in its realization. At the same time, I do not believe that this turns it into a contemplative work. Music, which is essentially an art of time, uses in this case, every dynamic possibility, with the energy of the solo line being highly present from the beginning.
Particularly sensitive to the continuity of listening, I tried to shape the musical phrases as I imagine a writer would shape language, remaining as attentive to the greater arch as to smaller inflections.
The use of pivot notes, fixed points toward which characteristic figures are attracted or repelled, is present from the very start of the piece.
The figures stretch, multiply, refract, or tighten, including types of shimmering and sequences sometimes based on echoes, resonances, bifurcations or sudden contradictions.
The processes always unfold within a given framework and links exist between the work's various sections. Certain figurations are broken apart, occasionally being used in the form of fragments. In some way, I tried to write a kind of music that separates the depth of the past from the abyss of the future.

The piece is dedicated to Tabea Zimmermann.

Michael Jarrell (September 2016)



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


Newer Works