Prix : 43,00 €



Emergences - Nachlese VI

  • Category / Instrument : Cello and orchestra
  • Orchestration : 3(picc.flG).2(+ca).2(+clB).2(+cbn) / / 3perc / timb / hp / pno(cel) /
  • Duration : 23'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 62
  • Format : A3
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 29021
  • Published : 20/01/2012
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230990219


03/02/2012 - Salt Lake City (United States), Abravanel Hall - Jean-Guihen Queyras (cello), Utah Symphony, Thierry Fischer (conductor)


Utah Symphony, l'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, l'Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg et l'Orchestre National de Lyon (with the support of the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia)


Composition works like an arborescent structure. At each ramification you choose a path, which depends on the whole dynamic of the whole piece. Doing this, you leave quite a lot of ideas and fragments behind. Nachlese is a german term already used by Goethe for the idea of "reading again", referring to, commenting something...
The idea of this cycle (Nachlese) is to come back to some musical ideas which I liked and found interesting, but were inappropriate in a different context and to develop them in new directions.
When choosing a title I like it to refer to different techniques used in the piece, but also very directly to what is heard at some moments. For instance, in the first movement the orchestra "emerges" from the very fast and nervous line played by the soloist and then, later, the "climax" of this movement "emerges" from the fast line then played by the orchestra.
This piece is dedicated to Jean-Guihen Queyras and Thierry Fischer.

Michael Jarrell,
December 2011



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


Newer Works