For hire



  • Category / Instrument : 6 percussions
  • Duration : 5'30
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 27754
  • Published : 01/01/2002


19/01/2002 - Strasbourg, La Laiterie - Les Percussions de Strasbourg


Radio-France et les Percussions de Strasbourg pour le Quarantième anniversaire des Percussions de Strasbourg


Michael Jarrell's Incipit is a part of Entente préalable, collective work from twelve composers (Michaël Jarrell: Incipit - François-Bernard Mâche: Vectigal Libens - Christian Lauba: Kupang - Fausto Romitelli: Chorus - Philippe Leroux: Rheumics - Marc Monnet: Mort et transfiguration pour quarante balais - Jean-Marc Singier: Salmigondis - Gérard Pesson: Gigue - Michaël Levinas: Tic tac / Pas de deux deux deux deux - Martin Matalon: Caramba (les) - Philippe Hurel: Ecart en temps - Jean-Pierre Drouet: La Fuite)

Incipit begins the collective work written for and with Les Percussions de Strasbourg. I found the idea of this "cadavre exquis" perfectly original, with each composer writing one following the other and taking up, in his own name, the legacy of his predecessor(s). Being the first on the list, it was up to me to open the way, finding a few tracks, creating a prior to what was going to become our future understandings. As indicated by its title, Incipit is meant to be the opening part of the piece lying fallow, the end of which I have no control over. The dictionary gives the following definition: "incipit, third person singular of the Latin verb meaning "to begin", previously used to announce the title of a reading or a copy - it has been preserved in French as a noun for designating the opening words of a literary text or the first notes of a musical text." The six musicians begin with a simple diapason. They set the tone: a barely veiled interrogation on the evolution of a few musical figures stated gropingly, awaiting the hatchings that are bound to occur...

Michael Jarrell


1 CD Accord, 472 086-2, Entente Préalable
Les Percussions de Strasbourg



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


Newer Works