Prix : 40,00 €



Concerto pour violon

  • Category / Instrument : Violin and instrumental ensemble
  • Orchestration : / / 2perc / cel / pno / synth ad lib. / hp / guit / mandoline ad lib. /
  • Duration : 17'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score
  • Number of pages : 57
  • Format : A3
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 26890
  • Published : 01/01/2001
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230968904


03/09/1997 - Amsterdam (Netherlands) - Angel Gimeno (violin), Nieuw Ensemble, Micha Hamel (conductor)


The Violin Concerto is the result of a commission from the famous Dutch Gaudeamus Foundation, written for the Nieuw Ensemble, to whom it is dedicated, and the violinist Angel Gimeno. The first performance was given in September 1997 in Amsterdam, during the festival organised bye the foundation. This is, above all, a work of scope, gesticulation and dances, in which the soloist interprets the leading role in the style of an off-kilter baroque concerto. It is built around a main melodic line with the use of diatonic and pentatonic modes. Beginning with a hesitant, almost "split-up" melodic motif, it gradually polarises around the violin solo, a working method already present in several of my previous works such as Commedia, Anima and Phantasmagoria.

Régis Campo
Translated by John Tyler Tuttle


1 CD Mandala, MAN 4948
Concerto pour violon - Kinderball - Livre de Sonates - Rondo
Nieuw Ensemble d'Amsterdam, A. Gimeno, K. Abe, J.C. Revel, Proxima Centauri, M.-B. Charrier



Régis Campo was born in Marseilles in 1968 and took composition lessons with Georges Boeuf and Jacques Charpentier before enrolling at the Paris Conservatory, where he continued his studies with Alain Bancquart and Gérard Grisey, finishing with the first prize in composition in 1995. [...]


Newer Works