Prix : 61,50 €




  • Category / Instrument : String quartet
  • Duration : 20'
  • Genre : contemporary
  • Sortiment : Score + parts
  • Number of pages : 39 + 13+12+13+14
  • Format : A4
  • Publisher : Lemoine
  • Code : 26852
  • Published : 25/04/1997
  • ISBN / ISMN : 9790230968522


25/04/1998 - Tage für neue Kammermusik, Witten (Germany) - Quatuor Arditti


to the Quatuor Arditti


Jarrell's music never ceases to confront the question of time. To stop on a chosen page, skip several lines, return, dream, reflect... It is an act of concentration in the present that makes what was the future pass into a state of time gone by...
"How then, are they, these two times, the past and the future, because the past is no longer and the future is not yet? As for the present, if it were always present, if it were not going to join the past, there would not be time, there would be eternity..."

The Confessions, Eleventh Book, Chapter XV



Born in Geneva in 1958, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau. [...]


    • Création Nationale
    • 05.03.2020
    • Verästelungen (Assonance Ic)
    • Moscou (Russia)
    • Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Rachmaninov Hall
    • Studio for New Music Ensemble, Serghey Akimov (cond.)
    • Création Nationale
    • 05.03.2020
    • Lied ohne Worte
    • Moscou (Russia)
    • Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Rachmaninov Hall
    • Stanislav Malyshev (vl), Olga Galochkina (vlc), Mona Khaba (pno)
    • 05.03.2020
    • Bebung
    • Moscou (Russia)
    • Tchaikovsky Conservatory, Rachmaninov Hall
    • Nikite Agafonov (cl), Olga Galochkina (vlc), Studio for New Music ensemble, Sergey Akimov (cond.)

Newer Works